Monday, September 14, 2009 - 04:00 to Tuesday, September 15, 2009 - 03:59

Parliamentary elections will be held in Norway on 14 September 2009. The Storting, or Parliament, is Norway’s democratically elected national assembly. 169 representatives are elected for a four-year period of office. Their duty is to represent the population of all 19 constituencies, corresponding to the 19 counties of Norway. The most important activities of the Parliament are to pass laws, set the state budget and conduct the work of government.

Candidates will be elected on party lists in each of the 19 counties listed above, including the municipal authority of Oslo which is a county of its own. The number of members to be returned from each constituency varies from three to sixteen, and depends on the population and area of the county.

Any party that wins more than 4% of votes nationwide but does not win enough votes in any constituency to earn a seat is eligible for compensatory "levelling" seats. To read further about the election system in norway, please visit ACE: The Electoral Knowledge Network.

To visit the Official Election Portal Click here.

We invite individuals and other organizations from Norway working in the area of promoting women in politics to share their views, agenda for the political parties and campaigns on iKNOW Politics.

To leave a comment please log in.