Election: Sri Lanka



Election: Sri Lanka

Tuesday, January 26, 2010 - 05:00 to Wednesday, January 27, 2010 - 04:59

Sri Lanka elects on national level a head of state - the president - and a legislature. The president is elected by popular vote for a six year term by the people.

The Parliament has 225 members, elected for a six year term, 196 members elected in multi-seat constituencies through proportional representation system where each party is allocated a number of seats from the quota for each district according to the proportion of the total vote that party obtains in the district. The other 29 which is called the national list are appointed by each party secretary according to the island wide proportional vote the party obtains.

14,088,500 Voters will be casting their votes at 11,098 polling station on 26th January 2010 from 7.00 am to 4.00 pm. To read further please visit Department of Election, Sri Lanka.

We invite individuals and other organizations from Sri Lanka working in the area of promoting women in politics to share their views, agenda for the political parties and campaigns on iKNOW Politics.

To leave a comment please log in.