IRELAND: Parliamentary Election



IRELAND: Parliamentary Election

Friday, February 25, 2011 - 18:57

Ireland will hold parliamentary elections February 25th.

Ireland has a bicameral Parliament (Oireachtas) consisting of the Senate (Seanad Éireann) with 60 seats and the House of Representatives (Dáil Éireann) with 166 seats. At stake in this election are the 166 seats in the House of Representatives. Members of the House of Representatives are elected through a single transferable vote (STV) proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms.

For more information on the Irish electoral system, please visit the IFES Election Guide webpage on Ireland here.