Nigeria: Women who will shape the ninth Senate

World News


Nigeria: Women who will shape the ninth Senate


When the Ninth Senate of Nigeria is inaugurated in June, there will be at least no fewer than seven women in the 109-member chamber, if the results of the February 23 Presidential and National Assembly elections are anything to go.

So far, seven women have been declared winners of senatorial contests across the country. They were among 22 female vice presidential candidates, 232 female senatorial and 532 female House Representatives standard bearers, who contested the elections.

The seven senators-elect is a repeat of the number of female senators who served in the Eight Senate. Five of the senators-elect are of the main opposition Peoples Democratic Party, PDP while the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, produced two.

At the end of the 2015 elections, eight women were declared senators-elect, namely, Stella Oduah (Anambra North), Rose Oko (Cross River North), Abiodun Olujimi (Ekiti South) and Fatimat Raji-Rasaki (Ekiti Central), Oluremi Tinubu (Lagos Central), Binta Garba (Adamawa North) and Alhaja Monsurat Sunmonu, Oyo, and Uche Ekwunife, Anambra Central.

There were among 21 women won elections into the National Assembly then.

Click here to read the full article published by All Africa on 4 March 2019.